Over a four-day regatta, the Mexican J/70 Class held their 2020 National Championship in Valle de Bravo for a fleet of 22 teams. Host for the event was the Club de Vela La Peña Valle de Bravo. After a nine-race series, the American team on PIED PIPER, led by skipper Gannon Troutman won the event. Starting out with three bullets on the first day of racing, they never looked back. Troutman Victor Diaz de Leon on mainsheet and calling tactics. The balance of their team included Tomas Dietrich and Roberto Escalante. PIED PIPER never had a finish out of the top four, finishing with just 16 points. Another American had a significant impact on silver medal winner LA BALA. Trimming mainsheet and calling tactics for skipper Yon Belausteguigoitia was Bill Hardesty from San Diego, CA. The LA BALA team sailed consistently in the top ten to finish second with 32 points net. Their crew consisted of Yon and brother Ander, Hardesty, and Elaine Fierro. LA BALA was declared the Mexican J/70 National Champion as the top Mexican team in the regatta. Taking the bronze medal on the podium and also winning the Mexican Corinthian J/70 National Championship was Jorge Murrieta’s FLOJITO Y COOPERANDO, sailing with crew of Jose Alfonso Gutierrez Frusch, Jeronimo Mariscal and Pablo Rion. Behind the Corinthian J/70 Mexican Champions on FLOJITO was Hector Guzman Gonzalez’s team on ESCIPION (Gerardo Lozano, Juan Pablo La Pena Guzman and Mariana Guzman). Third went to Eduardo Oetling’s AXOLOTL, with crew of Eduardo Oetling Jr, Ricardo Guzman and Alfonso Aguilar. Thirteen of the 22 teams were Corinthians. For more Mexican J/70 National Championship information, visit Inicio – j70mexico.

Comments are closed.