On the third weekend of March, the Argentinean J/70 Class sailed one of its pre-eminent regattas of the year, the Regatta Copa PIMMS on the waters of the Rio de la Plata. Sailing just north of Buenos Aires, the Club Nautico Olivos hosted the 19-boat fleet for a long weekend of racing, with five races taking place. Over the two days, the breezes were mostly out of the South/Southeast with puffy winds in the 7 to 13 knots range. Winning was Fernando Gwodz’s PRINCIPADO with crew of Francisco Bellocchio, Gabriel Marino and Guillermo Durante. Their tally of 4-1-4-6-1 for a total of 16 points was enough to take the PIMMS Trophy. Just two points back was Jose Arrondo’s BBTO and his team of Guillermo Arrondon and Ezequiel Mendonca with a scoreline of 3-7-1-2-5 for 18 points total. The final step of the podium was determined by a tie-breaker at 20 points each. Winning that countback was Nicholas Goulu’s CHISPITA team consisting of Felipe Diniz, Ivan Arangueren and Martin Arroyo, sailing to an 8-6-2-1-3 tally. Losing that battle was Gonzalo Ramos Veritz’s team of Rosario Travascio, Matias Blanco, Diego Garay and Guillermo Paquerizas. The fifth-place team was a past winner of the event, skipper Francisco Van Amaerte with crew of Leo Van Avermaete and Geronimo Galvan with 25 points total. Winning the Corinthian Division was Arrondo’s team on BBTO, second went to the Van Avermaete’s and third was Ignacio Ruiz Moreno’s team of Nicolas Guille, Alejandro Juan de Paz and Ezequiel Navari. For more Argentinean J/70 Class information, visit https://www.facebook.com/j70argentina/.

Comments are closed.