Not even the pandemic was going to diminish the enthusiasm the Argentinean J/70 fleet had for getting themselves organized and out on the water. Traditionally, the fleet starts their season off Buenos Aires. Between Yacht Club Argentino’s facility on the city waterfront, to Mar de La Plata Yacht Club and to Yacht Club Olivos on a harbor north of the city, the J/70 Class enjoys world-class racing and Race Committee management. Despite the challenges of coping with strong river currents, PRO Mario Laitan managed to run a number of good races for both the traditional PIMMS CUP TROPHY regatta and the J/70 ANNIVERSARY Championship. The PIMMS CUP Trophy regatta was organized by YC Olivos for a 12-boat fleet. After a good weekend of racing, it was Alejandro Yrigoyen’s BUTANTE that took the gold, followed by José Arrondo’s BBTO in second and Francisco Campero’s AMIGO VII in third position. The Mar de La Plata YC hosted the ANNIVERSARY Championship for a fleet of a half-dozen boats. For two days, the fleet was blessed with sunny weather and nice northerly winds of 8 to 16 knots. After a six-race series, it was BACHAJO that ultimately won the regatta by winning three of the six races. Their team was comprised of Juan Diego “Chiqui” Figueroa, Ignacio Giamonna, Leslie Jenkins and Julián Lobelos. Second place went to SI QUERIDA skippered by Francisco van Avermaete, with crew of Rafael de Martis, Gerónimo Galvan and Carlos Lacchini. Rounding out the podium was MERCENARIO skippered by Martina Silva with her crew Trinidad (her sister), Gabriel Marino, Nacho Portis and Tobias Cédola. For more Argentina J/70 Class information, visit

Comments are closed.